Taco Soup (Day 29)

I’ve signed up for a 31 day  writing challenge.  Everyday in October, I am posting a new slow cooker recipe, a link to a previous posted slow cooker recipe, or a link to a recipe from another blog.

Yes, I know this is another soup recipe.

We had lots of rain on Tuesday and Wednesday so it was a good thing I had the taco soup on the menu for Tuesday.  There is something about soup on a dreary day.  It helps brighten your soul.

The Wee One loves tacos so I thought he would like this soup.  He probably would have liked it better if I served it with tortilla chips.

Hubby and I loved the soup.  It’s easy to put together in the morning.  The soup uses ingredients that most people have in the pantry.

wpid-im-hungry.jpg

Acting crazy

The boys decided they wanted me to take a picture of them.  I was trying to get a picture of the soup.

DSC00489

This is the Wee One taste testing the soup.  I have no clue while he is holding his head.

taco soup #2

DSC00498

Taco Soup

Stars of the recipe:

  • 1 lb. hamburger, browned or 2 c. already browned hamburger
  • 1/2 small onion, diced
  • 1 Tbsp. minced garlic
  • 3 heaping Tbsp. homemade taco seasoning or 1 package store bought taco seasoning
  • 1 1/2  c. water
  • 2 (15 oz.) cans diced tomato
  • 1 (15 oz.) can tomato sauce
  • 1 (15 oz.) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 c. frozen corn

Steps:

  1.  Place all ingredients in the slow cooker.
  2. Cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 3-4 hours.
  3. Top with your favorite toppings – cheese, sour cream, etc. . .
  4. Enjoy!

Screen-Shot-2014-10-01-at-1.48.07-PM

If you enjoyed this recipe, please share it on Facebook or Pinterest.  Here is a link to my Facebook page and my Pinterest page.

To check out the rest of the recipes I’ve shared during this challenge, click on this link.

Oh and please check back during the first week of November.  I’m planning a small giveaway.  No, it is not a crock pot.  More information will be forthcoming about the giveaway.

Happy eating,
Traci

One thought on “Taco Soup (Day 29)

Leave a comment